The Politics of Laughter

One of my earliest debates of who or what is funny came when I was at secondary school, big up Soufriere Compre!,and a classmate said she didn’t find white folk funny. The blasphemy as I was an avid ‘Will and Grace’ fan at the time and I found it rambunctiously hilarious.This was one of the first times I really pondered on what others found funny and whether their ‘different humor’ should really count as humor.

I always juggle between black and white ideas of what’s funny. I loved Fresh Prince, Martin , Family Matters and their ilk but the comedy of my ‘old age’ Big Bang Theory and How I Met Your Mother(except for that dreadful series finale) are decidedly as white as snow. Was this a deliberate decision on my part? Not really I just didn’t connect with the black comedy on a TV level as before. Perhaps it was its Tyler Perry levels of just utter unlike-ability, I laughed but it lacked that edge and intellect. (News of a possible Fresh Prince reboot have me licking my lips).

As I grow older I learn that yes I still love cartoons and slightly immature jokes and humor but at the other spectrum my humor has grown to include biting satire and scathing parody. I count the heathen Bill Maher, The two John’s , Stewart and Oliver,Donald Trump, Larry Wilmore,IWN (http://islandwidenews.com/) as my go to laughter trigger whenever the blues hit me.

Which is not to say that other things don’t amuse me or arouse my tickle bone. I just find a serene pleasure in them.

One thought on “The Politics of Laughter

  1. Pingback: The Politics of Laughter | The Procrastinator's Library

Leave a Reply

